How I Knew I Was in Love

So my boyfriend and I have been together for a little over a year now and things are going great. There were obviously a few bumps in the road, but I would say we’re smooth sailing right now. 🙂 We’ve learned so much together and from each other; I’m so happy that I found him.

How did we meet? Long story short, he sold me a textbook. I honestly didn’t expect things to turn out the way they are now (my roommate Shannen claimed to have known all along though), but I’m not complaining. 🙂 A couple of people have asked me how I knew I was in love. Here were a few of the MANY things that I felt/thought of as I was asking myself earlier on in our relationship:

1. Things just felt different.

In my past experience, I never really had a “good” relationship. My ex-boyfriend and a couple guys I’ve “talked” to treated me poorly and I started to get used to that treatment. It got to a point where one of them urged me to send him nude photos while saying “it’s normal, everyone does it”.

Dan never treated me that way. Our conversations kept going, hanging out with him was never really awkward, I didn’t feel as if I was forcing myself to start our conversations, and etc. Dan was respectful, kind, and hilarious. Things just felt different.

2. I saw him in my future.

And it didn’t feel as if I was making it up. Picturing him in my future was realistic; we have similar ideals, family backgrounds, etc. I saw him in my future, and it made me feel happy.

3. He was there for me.

I met Dan during my second year of college and he was one of the few people who got me through that year. Second year was brutal; it was the year where my nursing school started to weed their students out. I had a tough time with the rigorous courses and developed low self-confidence. Thankfully, Dan was there to cheer me on. He was literally there for me as I studied for my anatomy exams at 4 in the morning (when he didn’t even need to study!!!). He had all the right words to say when I received low exam scores or lost all motivation to study. He was there all along during one of my lowest points in college.

4. Our conversations our endless.

Even to this day, we never run out of things to talk about; our conversations can last until midnight. When he would have to head back home after hanging out with me for the day, it sucks saying good-bye to him. It’s always hard to say good-bye when you want to be with the person all the time.

5. He is supportive.

He would understand if I wasn’t able to talk because of schoolwork or if I had to cancel my date because of a delayed flight. Dan showed up to my white coat ceremony and made it clear that he would be there throughout my journey to becoming a nurse.

6. I am happy.

I am happy with him. Five simple words that I do not have to explain.

The list goes on and on, but it’s getting late and I’m feeling a little sleepy. If you made it this far, thanks for reading!

20353740_1421912837844886_1669812854_o

Leave a Reply

